Gerrard, Fowler and Owen nominated for Premier League Hall of Fame

Steven Gerrard, Robbie Fowler and Michael Owen are among the nominees hoping to join the inaugural class of the Premier League Hall of Fame.

The brand-new concept was recently launched to honour the very best players to have featured in England’s top tier since the Premier League’s inception in 1992.

Alan Shearer and Thierry Henry were revealed as the first inductees earlier this week.

The Premier League also announced a 23-man shortlist of ex-pros that hope to join them in the class of 2021.

The public and a panel will vote for their favourite six candidates, with the three Liverpool academy graduates among them.

Gerrard made 504 Premier League appearances across his 17-year Liverpool career.

Fowler played 379 games in the division, some of which came for Manchester City, Leeds United and Blackburn Rovers.

Raphinha, Coutinho and Tielemans: The signings Liverpool could make this summer

Michael Owen has the fewest amount of appearances of the trio, with 326 coming for Liverpool, Newcastle United, Stoke City and, infamously, Manchester United.

Which Red is most worthy of a Hall of Fame place?

The majority of Liverpool fans will likely vote for Steven Gerrard.

Photo by Tom Jenkins/Getty Images

He is arguably the greatest player in the club’s history. Some may claim that he is the best individual to ever grace the Premier League.

The lack of a league title is the only thing holding him back but, in terms of talent, ability and performances on the pitch, he is certainly one of the best players in the country’s history.

The Scouser was as close as you can get to a one-man team at times. He inspired his teammates to reach levels way beyond their capabilities.

Gerrard has 120 Premier League goals, second only to Frank Lampard among midfielders in the all-time charts.

Robbie Fowler is eighth on the all-time Premier League top scorer list, with 163.

Photo by Professional Sport/Popperfoto via Getty Images/Getty Images

He would undoubtedly have scored a lot more if he was not so injury-prone.

83 of these goals came in his first four seasons. So, he scored more from the ages of 18-22 than he did from the ages of 23-34.

If he managed to avoid injury and keep up the scoring rate of his early seasons, Fowler may have gone on to be the best striker in Premier League history.

Finally, Michael Owen is the only Ballon D’or winner nominated. He had only just turned 22 when he won the 2001 award.

Mandatory Credit: Ross Kinnaird /Allsport

In fact, Owen is one of just two players to have won a Ballon D’or while playing for an English club. The other, Cristiano Ronaldo, will presumably be inducted in later years.

On this basis alone, Owen should have a good shout for inclusion.

However, much like Fowler, he reached his peak very early in his career.

Like Fowler, injuries played their part. By the time he moved to Real Madrid in 2004, he was all but finished at the top level.

His return to England one year later with Newcastle was unspectacular.

Owen then joined Manchester United, destroying his relationship with Liverpool fans. Despite his apparent love for the Reds, many still have sour feelings towards him.

Click here to vote for three Reds and get them into the Premier League Hall of Fame’s class of 2021.

Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know
or Comment Below
LOGIN to Comment
LOGIN to Comment