Stephen Warnock thinks that Alisson Becker was lucky not to concede a penalty against Aston Villa on Saturday.
The Liverpool goalkeeper appeared to bring down Danny Ings inside the box late in the game. But referee Stuart Attwell felt the Brazilian got to the ball first.
That is a view that former Red Warnock disagreed with. Speaking to Sky’s “Ref Watch” segment on Monday morning, he claimed Alisson “knew he’d made a mistake”.
“Once you make one mistake it’s followed by another one, it’s that erratic behaviour. I thought it was a penalty”.
Erratic isn’t a word any Liverpool fan would associate with Alisson Becker. But it was certainly a hearts in mouths moment as he dived desperately at the feet of Ings after a mix-up with Joel Matip.
A penalty to Villa at that stage of the game would have been catastrophic for Liverpool. As it was, a slight touch on the ball from Alisson was deemed enough by the referee and the VAR.
Former referee Dermot Gallagher was also in the studio for Sky and he felt the touch from Alisson meant the right call was made.
“He definitely gets a touch on the ball, there’s no doubt about that. At that point Ings is already stumbling, going down. I think no penalty”, said Gallagher.
Either way, it was surely just a one-off lapse in concentration from our Number 1. Alisson has been in good form this season and tops the Premier League clean sheet table with nine from 15 games.