Photo by Patricio Realpe/ChakanaNews/NurPhoto via Getty Images

When will Liverpool be in the FIFA Club World Cup?

Get ready to mark your calendars in December as Liverpool are about to partake in the FIFA Club World Cup.

There’s probably a few of us who are wondering what this competition is.

Not going to lie, I wasn’t even aware that this existed. But after some extensive research, here is a few things you may like to know.

(Photo by Patricio Realpe/ChakanaNews/NurPhoto via Getty Images)


What is the FIFA Club World Cup? 

The FIFA Club World Cup is a competition that has been played regularly since 2005. The competition revolves around seven teams competing together over a two week period. It has starred the likes of Bayern Munich, Barcelona, AC Milan and Real Madrid- who are the competition’s most successful team.

Subscribe to Rousing The Kop TV now

What teams can play?

This year’s competitors can only play if they won:

  • 2019 CAF Champions League: Esperance de Tunis (Africa)
  • 2019 AFC Champions League: TBD (Asia)
  • 2019 OFC Champions League: Hienghene Sport (Oceania/Australasia)
  • 2019 European Champions League: Liverpool (Europe)
  • 2019 CONCACAF Champions League: Monterrey (North & Central America/Caribbean)
  • 2019 CONMEBOL Champions League: TBD (South America)

The host nation’s league champions will be included too: Al-Sadd SC Doha (Qatar’s Stars League)


How does the competition work?

Liverpool automatically qualify to the semi-final stages, so we will have to play a two games maximum. Not really bad actually, especially if we get a trophy at the end of it.

The rules of the competition show the hosts will open the game to the Oceania champions. The winner of this match will then proceed to the second round, where they will face either the Asian, North American or African champions. After that, the quarter final winners will then go head to head with either the European champions or the South American winners. This will determine who gets a place in the final.

. (Photo by Koichi Kamoshida/Getty Images)

This is what the fixtures look like at the minute:

First Round

Match 1

Al Sadd v Hienghene Sport.

Second Round

                      Match 2                                                                                 Match 3

CF Monterrey v. (winner Match 1)                              (2019 AFC champion) v. Es Tunis

Semi Finals

                        Match 4                                                                                   Match 5

(Winner Match 2) v. Liverpool               (2019 CONMEBOL champions) v. (Winner of Match 3)


(Winner of Match 4) v (Winner of Match 5)



Have Liverpool won the competition?

YOKOHAMA, JAPAN – DECEMBER 15: Steven Gerrard of Liverpool celebrates with team-mate Peter Crouch after scoring during the FIFA Club World Championship Toyota Cup 2005 match (Photo by Shaun Botterill/Getty Images)

Liverpool have never won the competition. The last time we participated was in 2005, where we finished in second place; the Reds just lost out the title to the CONMEBOL winners, São Paulo, in a 1-0 defeat.

Hopefully this year we will win our first.

Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know