Which Liverpool team has been your favourite?
Photo by Michael Regan/Getty Images

Which Liverpool team has been your favourite?

Over the years, Liverpool have won many trophies. However, they have not been won by the same squad.

Out of the five squads below, which team has been your favourite?


1. Bob Paisley 1976/77

Kevin Keegan of Liverpool poses for a photograph with the European Cup . (Photo by Liverpool FC via Getty Images)

Captain: Emlyn Hughes

Paisley’s squad had quite an impressive season. Led by Hughes, Liverpool won the tenth League cup as well as their first European cup. This team has been the favourite of many fans as it contained players such as Kevin Keegan, Phil Thompson and Phil Neal. Paisley’s top goal-scorer for the season was Keegan with 20 goals.


2. Joe Fagan 1983/84

(Photo by Mike Powell/Allsport/Getty Images)

Captain: Graeme Souness

This was Fagan’s first season managing Liverpool and probably his most memorable. This squad contained many Liverpool legends, such as: Kenny Dalglish, Ian Rush and Alan Hansen. It was also the first time Liverpool had won a treble: the League, the League Cup and the European Cup. Ian Rush also was the season’s top goal scorer, with 32 goals.


3. Rafa Benitez 2004/05

(Photo by Lars Baron/Bongarts/Getty Images)

Captain: Steven Gerrard

Although Liverpool finished fifth in the Premier League, Benitez’s squad had more success in Europe. Featuring the likes of Sami Hyypiä, Jamie Carragher and Xavi Alonso, the Reds clinched their fifth Champions League title. Benitez also led them to the League Cup final but we unfortunately got beat by Chelsea (3-2). Their top goal-scorer was Milan Baros with 9.


4. Brendan Rodgers 2013/14

(Photo by Liverpool FC via Getty Images)

Captain: Steven Gerrard

This was the quite a year for Liverpool as they began to look like title contenders. With the likes of Sterling, Coutinho and Suarez, the team were unstoppable on the offense. Together, they helped the team score 101 goals (the club’s highest number since entering the League), 31 of those belonging to Uruguayan.

Despite just missing out on the title by two points, Liverpool regained a Champions League spot after a four year absence.

5. Jurgen Klopp 2018/19

Captain: Jordan Henderson

(Photo by Giuseppe Maffia/NurPhoto via Getty Images)

Our current team thrived under Klopp, particularly in the 2018/19 campaign.

With PFA’s Player of the Season Van Dijk, and Golden boot winners Salah and Mane (22 each), Liverpool were a threat on all fronts. Although they finished one point off the top, the Reds did break the record for “most points in a season without winning the League”. Let’s not forget them winning a Champions League and Super Cup after beating the likes of Chelsea, Barcelona and Bayern Munich.





Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know
or Comment Below